ONA23 Program Committee

The ONA23 Program Committee is a volunteer group of journalists, news leaders and related professionals who review submissions and design programming for the annual conference of the Online News Association. 

The Program Committee’s roles include:

  • Prioritizing and balancing session topics and formats in building out the ONA23 conference schedule 
  • Reviewing every submission made to ONA’s public call for pitches, and making recommendations about quality, value and fit
  • Sourcing and conducting outreach to engage high quality, diverse presenters

Interested in joining a future conference program committee? Please reach out Learning Director Kelsey Proud, kelsey@journalists.org for more detail.

Members of the ONA23 Program Committee

Aala Abdullahi

Innovation Editor, Sahan Journal

Allison Shirk

Director of Digital Content and Engagement Strategy, WEHCO Media, Inc.

Cam Rodriguez

Data + Graphics Reporter, Chalkbeat

Donesha Aldridge

Executive Producer of Digital Content, 11Alive

Emily Alfin Johnson

Growth Editor, Network Initiatives, NPR

Graham Watson-Ringo

Senior Director of Success, News Revenue Hub

ONA Board of Directors

Jeremy Littau

Associate Professor of Journalism and Communication, Lehigh University

Josh Cornfield

New Platforms & Audience Growth, Associated Press

Kat Sheplavy

Program Manager, Editorial Experimentation, McClatchy

Myrka Moreno

Audience Engagement Producer, The 19th*

Najja Parker

Newsletter Coach, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Nirma Hasty

Producer, NBC News

Robin Kwong

New Formats Editor, The Wall Street Journal

Shawn Mooring

Head of Philadelphia Programs, The Lenfest Institute for Journalism

Uli Koeppen

Head of AI + Automation Lab, Co-Lead of BR Data • Bayerischer Rundfunk